The Quarrymen practice at the Quarry in Glencairn, using the club house of the False Bay Gun Club.

Glencairn is a small suburb about 8 km north of Simon’s Town on the False Bay coast with spectacular sea views, a marine reserve, river, wetland conservation area and hiking trails. In addition the beach provides a wonderful venue for swimmers, kite boarders and wind-surfers.

Less than an hour’s journey by road or rail from Cape Town, Glencairn boasts a fair share of the Cape Peninsula’s 2,250 indigenous plant species and attracts over 100 bird species. Glencairn has no less than 20 late-spring and early-summer flowering species of Geraniaceae, Iridaceae and Orchidaceae.

The Glencairn valley and surrounding mountains are also blessed with a wide assortment of fauna, including baboon, a number of antelope species, mongoose and the lynx-like genet.

The first resident of Glencairn was John Brown who settled with his family in Elsje’s Bay, as the Glencairn valley was then called, in about 1875.

The Quarry was opened in 1898 and looks down on the Main Road and the railway line. It was initially operated by the Divisional Council of the Cape until it was closed during the First World War (1914 – 1918). A company, Strong and Moore, operated the Quarry till it was closed in May 1978 due to environmental concerns, and in appreciation of the tourist potential of the area. Much of the rock that was taken from the Quarry was used in the building of the Naval Dockyard in Simon’s Town.

The Quarry is now leased by the False Bay Gun Club who generously allow the Quarrymen to use their clubhouse at the Quarry for weekly evening choir practices.